Limited Express Sazanami Ride Guide/Tokyo to Chiba

The “Sazanami” express started service on July 15, 1972, initially operating between Shinjuku and Tokyo stations and Tateyama and Chikura stations via the Chuo Main Line (only trains starting and ending at Shinjuku Station), Sobu Main Line, Sotobo Line, and Uchibo Line, and was designated as an el express train in the October schedule revision of that year. Wakashio” limited express trains to the Boso Peninsula were also operated from the same day, and “Wakashio” was operated via Sotobo Line.

On November 15, 1982, all express trains in the Boso area were cancelled and the “Sazanami” service was increased, and on March 16, 1991, the service between Tokyo Station and Soga Station was changed to via Keiyo Line in response to the start of the “Narita Express” limited express service on March 19, 1991.

The trains were also operated as “View Sazanami”, “Hometown Sazanami”, “Ohayo Sazanami”, etc., but the train nickname was unified to “Sazanami” on December 10, 2005.

On March 14, 2015, the regular service between Kimitsu Station and Tateyama Station was discontinued, and all trains are now operated between Tokyo Station and Kimitsu Station, with only morning and evening service on weekdays, specializing in commuter transport.

This express train runs as a commuter liner between Tokyo and Chiba’s Uchibo area.

I will introduce how crowded it is and what route it takes.

Limited Express Sazanami is only available on weekdays!

The limited express Sazanami arrives and departs from the Keiyo Line platform at Tokyo Station!
It is a little far from the platform where many JR lines arrive and depart, so be careful not to miss your train.

This time we will ride the Sazanami No. 1, departing at 5:30 p.m., all the way to the last stop, Kimitsu Station!

The limited express Sazanami runs in a 5-car formation, with reserved seats in cars 1-3 and non-reserved seats in cars 4 and 5.

Car No. 5 is the first train from Tokyo to Kimitsu!

Since it runs during the rush hour when people are going home, it is still in demand by commuters.

The limited express Sazanami stops at only a few stations: Tokyo, Soga, Goi, Anegasaki, Kisarazu, and Kimitsu.

In other words, within the Keiyo Line, it only stops at Tokyo and Soga.

The Keiyo Line runs along Tokyo Bay, so many sections of the line offer views of the bay!

As the line gradually changes its direction to the south, I was able to catch a glimpse of the buildings in Kaihin-Makuhari, which I will be passing through in the future.

Just before Kisarazu Station, the line crosses the Tokyo Bay Aqualine.

It takes about one hour from Tokyo Station to reach the final destination, Kimitsu!
This time, we secured tickets at a 35% discount through JR East’s reservation service “Ekinet”.

Even if you book up to the day before, the fare from Tokyo to Kimitsu is 1940 yen and from Tokyo to Kisarazu is 1830 yen, so be sure to use Ekinet to make your reservation!

Meet Local Japanese Freinds

Meet Japanese Freinds


  • このエントリーをはてなブックマークに追加

Follow us

error: Content is protected !!