About Imahie Jingu Shrine
The main deity of Imahie Jingu Shrine is Imahie Yamao Shichigami, or Emperor Houshirakawa, who is in charge of sake making, medicine and bonding. It was built in 1160, and its original location was near Sanjusangendo, south of Jikeiin, and was moved to the front of the Toyokuni Temple during the Edo period until 1897, when it was moved again to this location.
The place is nearly 900 years old, but the original temple is long gone, and the current building is the result of several relocations, and it is very secluded.
How to get there
5 minutes walk from Higashiyama Shichijo bus stop by city bus.
451-1 Myo Court Maeba-cho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto-shi, Kyoto