Chusonji Temple (中尊寺) was built up by Priest Jigaku in 850. The historical backdrop of Chusonji really began,…
at the point when Fujiwara no Kiyohira settled main pictures here in eary twelfth century. Kiyohira, the principal ruler of Oshu Fujiwara faction, fabricated Chusonji for Buddhist Pure Land.
Today, it is the most prominent site in Hiraizumi and one of UNESCO world legacy locales. There are numerous excellent sanctuaries and it has awesome congruity with nature. Konjikido, abstract means brilliant sanctuary, is the main remaining building which exists subsequent to the season of Oshu Fujiwara faction in Hiraizumi.
Chusonji is arranged on the highest point of a slope named Kanzan, and regularly called Kanzan Chusonji. As indicated by sanctuary records, it was established in 850 by Ennin (Jikaku Daishi), a friar connected with the immense religious community Enryakuji and third head abbot of the Tendai group. Ennin is likewise known for the self-portraying record of his ventures and investigation of Buddhism on the mainland, viewed by some as one of the world’s most noteworthy travelogs.
It was in the early twelfth century that the primary Oshu Fujiwara master, Kiyohira, started the development of an enormous sanctuary complex of lobbies and pagodas here. As indicated by the Azuma kagami (the official history of the Kamakura shogunate) there were more than 40 corridors and pagodas, and more than 300 friars’ habitations.
Kiyohira proposed that Chusonji would appease the spirits of the individuals who had kicked the bucket, either companion or adversary, in the intense clashes that had commanded Tohoku in the last 50% of the late eleventh century. He advance wished to make a serene state in view of the standards of Buddhism.
In the devotion promise for Chusonji, known as the Ganmon, Kiyohira composes that all voyagers, paying little mind to status, would be welcomed tenderly by the Buddhas and without fall flat get their favors. Chusonji’s benefits were to be conveyed uniformly and all around to all who sought them.
Kiyohira’s child Motohira acquired this extraordinary vision and authorized his own particular incredible sanctuary, Motsuji, which was finished by his child, Hidehira. Thus, Hidehira appointed Muryokoin Temple. This was near Yanagi no Gosho, which seems to have been an administration complex of various divisions from which the Oshu Fujiwara administrated their Tohoku space.
Hiraizumi thrived for about one hundred years, a period of peace and flourishing. Be that as it may, threatening vibe from the Kyoto court and the rise of Minamoto no Yoritomo’s administration in Kamakura in the end dragged Hiraizumi into the rough political changes of the late twelfth century.
At the point when Minamoto no Yoshitsune, more youthful sibling and previous general of Yoritomo, dropped out with his senior kin, he fled to north to Hiraizumi, however not long after he arrived, his defender Hidehira fell sick and passed on. Hidehira’s beneficiary, Yasuhira, was not able or unwilling to handle Yoritomo’s weight to hand over Yoshitsune, and in mid 1189 assaulted the criminal general, driving him into suicide.
Yet this was insufficient to assuage Yoritomo, who assaulted Yasuhira and brought the drapery down on the century-long ?sh? Fujiwara line.
Chusonji’s fortunes changed definitely in the succeeding Kamakura period. In 1337 flame devoured a hefty portion of the sanctuary’s lobbies, pagodas, and fortunes.
By and by, more than 3,000 National Treasures and Important Cultural Properties survived, chief among them the Konjikid?, the little, brilliant Amida lobby which was the primary structure assigned a Japanese National Treasure.
The noteworthiness of Chusonji’s fortunes is that they frame a coordinated gathering of a wide range of artworks, including finish work, woodwork, metalwork, coloring and calligraphy all of which speak to the apex of Heian period Buddhist workmanship in eastern Japan.
It is our sincerest trust that this booklet is of worth to all who visit Chusonji, and that it helps you to by and by experience both the fantasies of Hiraizumi’s Oshu Fujiwara and the endowments of the Buddha.
In 1057, Shogun Minamoto no Tomoyoshi and Yoshiie went by here and asked their triumph.
Reveres the vital picture of Yoshitsune and Benkei.
worked by Kiyohira, and moved here in 1657. The mystery essential picture of this lobby was made by Priest Jigaku.
Bansyo (Temple Bell)
This ringer is one of essential social property of Iwate Prefecture. It is Banshikicho – style chime cast in 1343 on the activity of Raiei, a minister of the Chusonji Konjikido. The ringer stand has gotten to be empty after long years of striking, and in this way the chime is no more rung. The engraving on the ringer says that the sanctuary expanding on top of the mountain was torched in 1337. This is als a profitable chronicled hotspot for the period after the fall of the Oshu-Fujiwara faction. Its measurement is 86 centimeters.
(Reference: Chusonji official data.)
Official Web Site:http://www.chusonji.or.jp/en/index.html
Open: 8:30 to 17:00 (Nov 4 to end of Feb 8:30 to 16:30.
Admission for Konjikido: 800 yen for adult. High school 500 yen. Junior high 300 yen. Elementary 200 yen. There is group discount.
go to JR Tohoku Line to Hiraizumi,then take a bus